Autistic kids are difficult to handle. Do you agree or disagree.

There is an ongoing debate that young people with autism are difficult to care for. In this essay, I partly agree with this view owing to the widely reported behavioural concerns, but I am also aware of the diversity of autism, and the improvement in technologies that help to manage it. On the one hand, supporters of this view argue that children with autism require specialised care owing to their inability to communicate their needs to carers. This breakdown in communication is what is considered by many studies to be the main reason driving them to get elevated, leading to unwanted behaviours. Based on this reasoning, it seems logical to believe that they are difficult to handle. On the other hand, it is essential to also consider their diagnoses to refrain from judgemental and stereotypical argumentation. Many in the lower-level spectrum tend to perform everyday tasks independently and communicate with ease. Additionally, even those in higher levels can be supported with the aid of technological and other behaviour support developments in this area nowadays. Therefore, one cannot generalise the difficulty of working or living with young people with this condition. In conclusion, while many indicators justify the challenges of caring for kids with autism, equally observable is evidence of advances in technology and behaviour support mechanisms to ease the process. I argue for balance, to acknowledge the evolving nature of care and the diversity of children falling into this category.