Online education and training is becoming increasingly popular all over the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there has been a significant increase in the number of people who prefer computer-based training and education. While it offers numerous benefits in terms of convenience and flexibility, it also brings about several drawbacks, such as reduced interaction with peers and a lack of structured learning. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, one of the main advantages of this trend is convenience. This is mainly because students can learn from their own comfort zone rather than wasting time commuting. This brings a sense of convenience while gaining academic knowledge. Another advantage is that they can learn at their own pace, which gives them the flexibility to revisit study materials until they clearly understand the complex concepts. For example, a recent study revealed that the number of students who register for online courses has increased significantly by an average of 45% worldwide. Therefore, it shows that an increased population is in favour of online education. On the other hand, there are many negative aspects of computer-based learning and training. Firstly, children will not have an opportunity to communicate with fellow students in order to develop soft skills such as communication, teamwork, and adaptability. As a result, it limits their ability to integrate with people in the workplace and society. Secondly, classroom education provides a structured learning experience, because lecturers have specialised knowledge on subjects in order to adopt personalised teaching methods to improve the understanding of complex concepts. However, online education cannot adopt different teaching practices like mentors. In conclusion, although proponents believe that online education and training are increasingly popular, I believe that classroom education offers a better learning experience in terms of providing personalised coaching methods and developing soft skills. Therefore, in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh its benefits.