These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 wor

Nowadays, when compared to the past, there has been a significant increase in the number of people who is opting for tourism in order to visit different places. While this trend offers numerous benefits in terms of increased access to facilities and protecting traditional culture, it also brings its drawbacks, such as pollution, and deforestation. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits before reaching a conclusion.  On the one hand, one of the main advantages of this trend is that communities gain greater access to facilities. This means that tourism revenue funds better roads, upgraded airport and reliable public transport, which does not only benefit visitors, but also connects communities to get improved access to facilities. Another advantage is that such revenue can be used to fund conservation projects to protect the irreplaceable sites for the future generations. For example, officials in Peru recently started a conservation project to protect the history of Machu Picchi using the income generated by the tourism industry. On the other hand, one of the major disadvantages of tourism is that it causes environmental impacts such as pollution, and deforestation. Due to the influx of visitors, many destination countries have problems controlling the pollution, as people litter everywhere leads to a significant damage to land and water. Another disadvantage is that forests are destroyed to construct hotels, and restaurants to make it appeal to foreigners causes deforestation, while impacting the local habitats. For instance, a recent study revealed that an average of 20% of environment issues are caused by travel and tourism industries. In conclusion, although people believe that travelling has become easy to visit different places as