Too much empasis placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examination is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In recent years, with the rising demand on academic abilities of students, there has been more emphasis on exams and tests. In fact, the over-emphasis on testings has led to unnecessary pressure on both teachers and students alike. While it is true that testings place significant importance in students academic growth, however, it is undeniable that if such testings brings pressure to them, they will only impede the growth of learners. As such, I fully agree with the statement with the reasons provided below. First of all, society believes that score in exams and tests prove the worth of students. Because of this situation, many young learners learn not for the sake of expanding their horizon, but for getting a higher scores in tests. They blindly memorize the words on their books without fully understanding them and absorbing the knowledge behind, resulting in them spending thousands of time preparing for an excessive loads of information that they are not willing to learn. Thus, they may not only develop a distorted view on learning, but also be pressured from studying. As for teachers, the change in the education system may lead to a different mode of teaching. With the focus being helping students get higher grades, teachers will also have to teach in a completely new style. They may only teach by the book without ever explaining the reasons behind or giving examples so to have a more efficient way of providing information to students. Teachers may only be a tool for learning for students instead of a companion in their journey of getting more knowledge. In my opinion, while examinations and tests are definitely a surefire way for students to check their understanding of what they learn, but putting too much attention to them will only turn students away from learning. Therefore, there should be a balance between teaching and examinations such that students can learn more effectively.