Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, punishing juvenile offenders has become a controversial topic. There has been much debate regarding who should be punished when a crime is committed by a child. While some individuals think that youth offenders should be penalized, others believe that parents of those children should be disciplined instead. Although parents should be enrolled into certain programmes, I would argue that juveniles should be punished because this educates about responsibility and moulds their behaviour. On the one hand, many people feel that youth offenders should be disciplined in some regards. Firstly, it teaches about responsibilities allowing them to learn from their mistakes. In other words, children pay more attention to their acts and consequences of them, while correcting inappropriate behaviour as to become a law-abiding persons. For example, under Canada Youth Criminal Justice act, juveniles between the age 12 -18 are sent into rehabilitation centers to learn right from wrong. Secondly, punishments can be a supporting tool to shape their behaviour which develops self-control and discipline rather than just deterring the juvenile delinquency. On the other hand, parents should be held accountable for the following reasons. To begin with, parents have a prime duty to supervise their minor children, preventing them from engaging in illegal activities. Poor upbringing and parent’s negligence may cause harm breaching parental duty regarding childcare. For instance, in many South Asian countries, police stations conduct constant parental awareness programmes about youth crimes as they consider irresponsible parenting could to be a major cause for the crimes committed by children. Moreover, the victim compensation concept in tort law justifies why parents should be penalised for offences committed by juveniles, because children cannot afford for restitutions, thus victims are compensated for damages by parents. Even though parents should be disciplined for children ’s misconducts, punishing parents will not address the issue as children do not realise the grievousness of their acts. In conclusion, while parents should be punished for youth crimes due to their irresponsible parenting and victim compensation, I believe that penalties should be imposed on juveniles as they cultivate responsibility and shape their behaviour through appropriate punishments.