Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There is an opinion that children should only read educational books at an early age instead of entertainment books for fun because the latter is considered just a waste of time. However, as a notion states that a book is a window to the world, hence any kind of reading is imperative for a child, even when they are toddlers. To begin with, reading for entertainment benefits children in many ways when they commence elementary school. Firstly, it could help brain development and improve imagination as they reach 5 years old. Secondly, they will acquire a lot of vocabulary to help their cognitive abilities with their peers. Furthermore, it will assist them in developing an interest in reading activities when they are growing up and as adults, which is considered imperative for the future to enhance literacy. A study by The Jakarta Post in 2023 showed that 80% of adults who spend their time reading are accustomed to reading books for fun as children, for example, Japanese manga and fairy tales. In addition, in some developed countries, the reading interest is so low because they were not used to reading when they were children. For instance, according to a survey conducted in 2020, the population reading books in Indonesia, Uganda, and Nigeria is less than 10%, and this makes them susceptible to bad financial decisions, a lack of information, and, in the worst case, becoming victims of online scams. In Indonesia, the loss of money due to this scam in 2025 was approximately Rp145 trillion, equal to the budget for one full year of educational states. In conclusion, reading entertainment books is essential for children because it will help them to build good reading habits when they are adults, and eventually, in the long run, will lead them to become better decision makers and improve a country's literacy, which is regarded as crucial to becoming a prosperous nation.