It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is a worrying situation within the field of education worldwide. Only a few learners are studying scientific subjects due to the difficult enrollment requirements. Sadly, this means a significant number of graduates fall into the business and social science categories, which limits scientific innovation in society. This essay will discuss these issues below. On the one hand, the low uptake of courses such as medicine, information technology and physics in educational institutions results from the cumbersome eligibility criteria for new students. For instance, certain universities worldwide only accept distinction grades or set difficult entrance tests for prospective science learners. While this move is aimed at recruiting top candidates, it significantly limits entrance for many individuals with high potential who do not hold such qualifications. On the other hand, this admission strategy leads to such institutions only graduating a few people who can effectively serve as scientists in society. With fewer people working as scientists, there is a danger of scientific innovation being lowered. Likewise, countries may end up missing out on innovative developments that could have helped eliminate some of the world's pressing challenges. To exemplify this, many developed nations, such as Australia, continue to struggle with managing public health issues in rural places. This is because many health experts are choosing to work in the cities, leaving remote areas short-staffed and unable to respond adequately to issues. In conclusion, not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject because registering to learn such courses is demanding. This phenomenon leads to a short supply of science graduates to the economy, which in turn limits the ability of a nation to harness its scientific potential for solving different social and economic problems.