Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, bicycles are no longer the most desired mode of transportation. This is because they are not very convenient for a highly mobile and busy public requiring access to other geographical places quickly and safely. To address this low uptake, states should consider building more cycling tracks and incentivising the use of bicycles for people. On the one hand, inconvenience seems to be the main reason why bicycles have seized to be the highly preferred mode of transport in contemporary society. Not many places have the resources or space to create tracks for cycling, which makes the practice unsafe. Additionally, their reach is very limited and they are slow, which makes them less preferred over other means of transport, such as cars and trains. For example, in big cities such as Hong Kong, it is difficult for people to cycle because there is not enough space to build tracks due to overcrowding. In such places, it is easier to ride trains, buses or even taxis in order to make it faster to destinations. On the other hand, in order to promote the use bicycles, states should invest in building more cycling tracks to encourage safe cycling. Likewise, they should provide cycling allowances for cyclists. With safety and incetives guaranteed, many people will have the courage and zeal to consider cycling for different purposes. For instance, despite the UK being a highly crowded place, many companies are offering cycling to work allowances for their employees. Such initiatives can be a starting point for luring members of the public into using the bicycle as a form of transport. In conclusion, it is clear that the use of bicycles is no longer common for many people. The reason for this is that they are not convenient to use in busy areas. To encourage their use, governments should proactively revamp their road networks to include cycling tracks, as well as consider introducing some incentives for people who decide to cycle.