As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As the digital platform becomes famous, analogue communication is becoming a thing of the past. I tend to agree with this because internet access is improving daily, and also it's easy to save the information for future reference. Firstly, in both rural and urban areas, 98 per cent of residents are able to access wifi or purchase bundles at a low cost. This has made it difficult to buy newspapers as one can read the news at the comfort of their home without the need to go to the shopping centre where they are usually sold. For instance, a study conducted at Oxford University demonstrated that 60-65 per cent of the news written in the paper was not bought within the months of March to August. Additionally, in those months, CNN, amodern television that broadcasts news globally, had an increase of viewers from 1.7 million to 3.7 million. This shows how people migrated from old ways of getting updates to digital methods. Secondly, people prefer something that can be preserved safely. Unlike newspapers that can get torn easily, updates we get using our phones can be retrieved easily, and there is no worry of them getting deleted. Therefore, this has made the majority of citizens, especially youth, to prefer news on the gadgets rather than in the papers. For Instance, research done to compare usage of television for news updates and reading newspapers in India in 2021 indicated that 95 per cent spent their time on television and not on the paper. In conclusion, the modern world is upgrading in terms of news updates and people are no longer reading newspapers as before.