When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that recreational centres and parks should be prioritised when designing new rural regions instead of building shopping malls for leisurely visits. I strongly agree with this statement because it improves the overall well-being of people and enhances the integration in society. This essay will discuss my views with relevant examples. To begin with, building public parks fosters social integration. This means that common spaces provide access to people to meet others, socialise, and build new relationships, which strengthens the bond among the public. For example, a recent study revealed that an average of 65% of adults make new relationships by meeting new people in such natural landscapes in city centres. Therefore, it is evident that it enhances the social cohesion amongst the public. Furthermore, having access to sports facilities helps people improving their health while socialising with community. Such facilities will be the central place for gathering for teenagers and adults during their leisure hours, where they can engage actively by participating in various sports such as football, tennis and board games. This will improve their physical and mental well-being. For instance, in India, the government has imposed stricter regulations in cities to make spaces for recreational activities to promote health and fitness, so that folks can engage in such activities during their spare time. In contrast, some advocates are interested to spend their leisure hours in shopping centres because it makes them feel more therapeutic when they purchase more products. Despite the benefits, I agree that natural landscapes and sporting activities are more beneficial for the population. In conclusion, advocates belive that public parks and sports centres should be designed when planning for new town developments to spend free time. I strongly agree with this statement as it is beneficial for them to spend their free hours to socialise and focus on their physical and mental health.