Nowadays more and more museums and art galleries around the world are putting their material contents online. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, an increasing number of objects from museums and art galleries are posted on the internet for public attraction across the world. In my opinion, it is a positive development because it attracts more tourists and attention from all over the world to generate more income. This essay will discuss my views in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, displaying the museum material contents online attracts tourism from worldwide. This is mainly because such art objects contain rich cultural information, which attracts visitors to enrich their knowledge about the significance of local tradition. For example, in India, a popular museum in Chennai, posted a picture of a yellow diamond from the 14th century, which was used by one of the famous emperors who ruled South India, and that has attracted a large number of visitors to visit the museum. Additionally, such a surge in tourism will generate more income for the country, which can be utilised for better infrastructure, facilities and restoration of historical buildings. Furthermore, posting such artworks on the internet attracts wealthy people from everywhere. This means that certain rich people often associate such unique art possessions to showcase their wealth, which will increase their societal status. For instance, a recent investigation revealed that the unique paintings in art studios are often auctioned for a higher price because wealthier people are more interested in buying such artworks. Therefore, it is evident that posting material content online from such repositories is certainly a positive development. To sum up, some people claim that these days, many art and museum repositories post their material contents on the internet. In my opinion, it is a positive trend to attract more visitors to these public places to generate more income for society, which can be better utilised for development of the country.