People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last few years, the phenomenon of woman giving birth at older ages has been popular than ever before, especially in big cities due to the escalation of living and education costs for children. This essay will discuss the advantages and drawbacks regarding this issue. To begin with, having children at advanced enable them to be more focus on career, thus increase productivity and eventually, leads to the higher economic growth. Moreover, by extending the time of working, it will save more money amid the higher of living and education cost to prepare their children when they are adults in the future. For example, annual tuition cost in University of Indonesia has increased by 217% in 2025 compared to the previous decade. Besides, giving birth at the older age give parents more time to study parenting skills amid drug abuse and alcohol addictive, which means parents must have strong mentally to nurture their kids. However, having children at advanced age also has its serious shortcomings. Research revealed that giving birth at 30s and 40s lead to miscarriage, and in some cases caused the death to baby and mother. In addition, there are other risks such as down syndrome and high blood pressure, thus regular monitoring and a healthy lifestyle is required to mitigate these risks. In conclusion, giving birth at advanced age has its own beneficials, for instance, more stable financially and mentally. However, it also carries some serious risks to baby’s health such as down syndrome and high blood pressure. With well preparation, the risk related to this issue will be mitigated properly.