Some people think that in the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless and only passengers will travel inside these vehicles. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that driverless format for cars, buses, and trucks in the future will be implemented and only the passengers will be inside the vehicles. Although this remain a controversial issue due to the drawbacks, the benefits are more significant for the human beings, and this essay will thoroughly explain them. Human drivers are often feeling fatigued while driving for a long period of time. Fatigue is mostly caused by long journeys without proper rest due to the targeted arrival time that has been agreed upon. Not only can restless driving could cause fatigue, but it can also cause severe accidents. As a result, the companies have to take responsibility and pay for compensations for the accidents caused by the drivers. Therefore, utilizing a driverless format for vehicles would be a great advantage since it would mitigate the risk of accidents. This is because driverless vehicles are controlled by computer systems with machine learning technologies, which reduce the possibility of human error. Consequently, there would be fewer concerns about accidents caused by drivers. In Europe, for example, trucks have been equipped with computer systems to drive from one place to another, and data has proven that they have recorded no accidents over the last three years. At the moment, the cost for paying the drivers for their salary and its additional are quite high since it has been regulated by the government. However, this driverless system is giving the solution for that issue. Not only it will reduce the number of accidents as the benefit, but it will also increase the income revenue for the producers and distributors. This is because the delivery cost will drop since they do not have to pay for insurances for the drivers and salary for them will be shifted for maintenance requirement of the computer which will be cheaper. As a result, the money that has been saved with this driverless system could be utilized to another sections for research and developments. For instance, it is proven in Finland, that people, who work in a shipping company, are no longer hiring a truck driver since they have increased their income by using robot drivers. In conclusion, this essay believes that although driverless system could make some people jobless, the advantages will overcome the disadvantages.