More and more countries have a problem with plastic waste, polluting the countryside and oceans. What problems does it cause? How can these problems be solved?

One of the serious environmental problems is plastic waste because it is polluting oceans and other parts of the Earth. This is because the consumption of goods using plastic materials has been increasing more rapidly than ever before. This essay will discuss the cause of this pollutant and viable solutions to address this problem. To begin with, economic activity is dominated by production and consumption of goods, and some of these goods is exported to other countries amid globalisation. However, consumerism also leads to another problem, especially the waste stemming from the production of consumer products, especially plastic, which is a is non-degradable material, which means that these substances cannot be broken down or decay by natural processes for hundreds of years. For example, in the South Javanese coastal are, plastics in massive amounts can be found since they were produced in 1990. These materials eventually pollute the oceans, and threaten their biodiversity. To mitigate risks due to this problem, the government has a crucial role in educating societies about the harmful effects of plastic waste on our environment. By doing so, their awareness will be raised and is expected to reduce the usage of products made from plastics. For example, in department stores in Indonesia, bags made from plastic are no longer provided, and to carry the goods purchased, customers have to pay extra for bags made from fabric. Another sensible solution is to encourage people to use recycled products, such as paper bags, which are environmentally-friendly, and do not pollute our environment. In conclusion, consumerism has led to the production of goods made from plastic in massive amount, which pollutes the ocean and our environment. The most sensible solution is to educate societies about the perilous effects of plastic waste and encourage them to use recycled products.