It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the idea that the elderly should continue working if they have a chance to do so is topical. In this essay, I fully agree with this notion because by working, they can reduce loneliness and continue to contribute their wisdom to their work places. On the one hand, retirement can be very isolating, leading to certain individuals living sedentary lives. By extending work contracts after retirement, workers can continue to access their connections and friendships built over the years in their work places. This, ofcourse, depends on them having developed good relationships at work. For instance, in many developed nations, which are typically known to be individualistic, some experienced workers tend to continue in their positions until they reach the age of 80; such argue that, with limited familial connections, it is better for their social lives to continue working. On the other hand, long-serving employees have the opportunity to continue contributing professionally to their organisations by extending their employment. In many cases, companies rely on them to mentor younger employees and teach them company values due to their experience, wisdom and maturity. To exemplify the ongoing discussion, in Japan, it is said that companies proactively hire and keep people well into their old age because they believe this helps with continuity. In conclusion, I fully agree with the view that it is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so; this is can be beneficial for both themselves and their employers. They can continue to tap into professional networks in order to nourish their social lives, as well as contribute their professional experiences to aid company growth.