Some people believe that rapid advances in technology have a negative impact on social interactions. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Provide reasons and examples from your own experience.

It is often argued that social interactions have been impacted negatively due to rapid advances in technology. While there are valid arguments on both sides, I agree with the statement mainly because it reduces communication skills and distracts people easily. To begin with, one compelling reason why it has a negative impact is that excessive entertainments are provided on many technology platforms. Consuming content through social media reduces communication skills because they only develop their passive capabilities. As a result, they are not capable of performing active skills like in real-life interactions. For instance, nowadays, the Z Generation is more capable of communicating through a camera instead of face-to-face interaction. Another important factor is that it makes individuals ignore the situation surrounding them. When individuals are with their gadgets, they tend to focus only on what is happening on their phones. Consequently, it makes them become distracted by their surroundings, which can lead them to be perceived as an impolite and ignorant person. A clear example of this can be seen in my country, Indonesia. Reportedly, 30% of their adolescents are impolite with the elders, and this is mainly influenced by abroad references which are not sufficient for their culture. In conclusion, some people believe that rapid advancement in technology may cause negative effects on social interactions, I strongly believe and agree with the statement because communication skills can be reduced, and people can get easily distracted.