Governments should spend money on public transportation rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been a concern that the state should utilize its finances on improving public means of transport and not the roads. This essay will disagree with it because better roads reduce maintenance cost and promotes safety for all passengers. The primary reason as to why more money should be spent on road repairs is due to the impacts of poor roads has to the motor cars. Most of the cars breakdown as they try to navigate though slippery or uneven roads. Furthermore, the highway worsens during extreme rainy and dry seasons. For instance, Study done In Thailand in 2021, most of the garages were full with faulty cars which was as a result of poor roads caused by heavy rainfall. The second reason is that, when the roads are smooth and easy to pass on. even the pendestrians feel safe as the accidents are few. Additionally, the expansion of the roads will lead to ease congestion of the vehicles and therefore no need for rush that causes collision. For example, in Kenya, between the years 2000 and 2003 the accidents reported decreased from 70% to 55% as the super highway was built. This shown that there was a massive reduction of accidents as a result of road expansion. In conclusion, however how much the government can opt to improve public transport sector, I believe that transport ministry should be prioritized instead. This is because it will safe tha cost of maintaining the vehicle and also drop the rate of accidents.