Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is an inclination that people do not obtain adequate sleep compared to the past, and this resulting on human health reduction significantly, eventually leading to various illnesses. In this essay, I will explain the triggers of this phenomenon and sensible solutions to solve this problem. To begin with, the market job is more competitive than ever before, and employees work so hard, sometimes until midnight to achieve their employer’s target, and this leads to a reduction in the number of hours they spend on sleep. For example, the employees in Ernst and Young work until 2 p.m. to complete the audit process. As a result, they only sleep for 5 hours, and this risks their physical and mental health, mainly diseases such as heart attack and impairment of kidney function. Furthermore, stress due to the pressure of a worse financial condition also contributes to the insufficiency of time they spend resting in bed. Consequently, they are more vulnerable to harmful chronic insomnia because their focus is significantly distracted. To address this problem, promoting a work-life balance is essential to improve sleep quality, and no overtime is allowed. For example, in Australia, the government limits maximum working hours to 40 hours per week. Moreover, reducing screen time on smartphones and replacing this activity with carrying out physical sports such as jogging or gym is also crucial because it will alleviate stress, and eventually lead to sufficient sleep. In conclusion, I contend that long working hours and stress are the main contributors to sleep deprivation. However, I believe that promoting work-life balance and taking physical activities is useful to enhance sleep quality.