Some people think that music is a good way of bringing people of different backgrounds together. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that music is an incredible way of connecting individuals of diverse cultures, ages and ethnicities. I agree with this sentiment because I believe that music has universal appeal and fandoms create a sense of community. Music is a universal way of bringing people together. Beats, tunes and rhythm transcend the language barrier. This is why people from diverse demographics can groove along even though they don't speak the same language. For instance, K-pop has recently seen a significant growth in popularity outside of South Korea. A concert in New York featuring the girl group will attract audiences of many different ages, ethnicities and religions. A quick glance at the arena would demonstrate the influence of the Korean aesthetic through outfits, makeup and hairstyles. Fandoms create a sense of community. Artists are able to create a shared emotional experience which connects them to their fandom, but more importantly, connects their fans to each other despite their diversity. Taylor Swift fans, famously known as "Swifties",are a perfect example. The vulnerability of her lyrics appeals to a 16-year-old as much as a 60-year-old when they're belting a song at her concert, at a party, in the car or even at a wedding. This demonstrates that people of all ages are able to relate to a song that they love and share that experience with others, sometimes not having much else in common. In conclusion, I agree with people who believe that music brings communities together through universal rhythm and fan groups transcending their cultural and ethnic barriers.