Today’s children are living under more pressure from the society than children in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no denying the fact that societies create pressure on young people. While it is a commonly held belief that children are experiencing higher stress levels in society, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my view, I believe that societal pressure has significantly increased stress levels among young people and should be addressed more carefully. To begin with, children are more anxious currently due to the high expectations from both their society and parents. In other words, they have to excel in their academic studies in addition to improving extracurricular activities and participating in various activities. Moreover, technology also contributed to their emotional instability. This is because young people have access to social media, where they can find other children ’s achievements. Therefore, they are being compared by themselves or by the people around them. In a recent study conducted by The Behaviour Institution, it was found that children now have higher anxiety and depression rates compared to those who lived their childhood in the 90s by approximately 30%. However, most children in the past were expected to handle hard responsibilities. It is also possible to say that they had to work as part-time workers or be involved in their parents’ home businesses. In addition, they had to balance their work tasks with school coursework. The strict system of education and the limited flexibility provided by technology today hinder the learning process and increase the pressure on children. In conclusion, although opinions differ, each generation has its own challenges, but I believe that the increased desire to raise children with different abilities and comparison emerged from social media is extremely increasing the stress on young people.