Some people think importing foreign movies and TV programs is good for a country's culture. Others believe it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Importing films and shows from foreign countries is considered better for the country's culture rather than producing films nationally by some people. This essay will discuss both viewpoints along with personal opinion in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, international movies demonstrate different cultures and heritage to the wider public. People living around the globe can access and adopt different cultural values and traditions, which can help them in personal development. Indian TV shows, for example, introduced the concept of Yoga to the world, consequently, helping millions of people live a healthy life. Thus, communities can access valuable insights from diverse cultures through movies and shows. On the other hand, the great influence of Western movies can distract people from their native culture, resulting in the loss of cultural identities. Locally produced films showcase local festivals and traditions, helping the younger generation to connect with them easily. Movies such as Elizabeth I show the true picture of English history, showcasing the dynamics of medieval England. So, it is important to create shows locally to preserve the country's identity. In my opinion, people can learn about diverse cultures through international movies; however, nationally made movies are also crucial to preserving personal identities. To conclude, although foreign movies and shows showcase a variety of cultures widely, the importance of local movies cannot be neglected. People must learn and preserve their own identity first before learning about new countries and traditions.