Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon all over the world. The causes of this problem includes lack of manpower and increasing crime rates. To improve this situation, transport companies can increase wages and passengers should be respectful when using the transport. There are a few reasons why transport delays are becoming more frequent. First and foremost, a lack of personnel in the transport department. In most countries, the salary of transport staff is not very high. Hence, a lot of people would not opt for this job. The demand for public transportation is very high yet the manpower is insufficient. This causes transportation companies to provide delays to commuters. Moreover, an increase in rate of crime. A lot of the times, the transport is stopped because of some misconduct performed by passengers. Some examples of this misconduct include passengers not paying the transportation fare, having verbal or physical arguments with one another, eating on transportation that prohibits it, etc. These types of misconduct requires staff to intervene and solve the problems, which eventually leads to an increasing amount of delay. In order to reduce the transport delays, firstly, the transport companies can increase the wages for the staff. This will lead to more people applying for the positions in the transport department. If there is an increased amount of manpower, the timing of the transport will also be significantly improved. In addition, passengers should also be more mindful when commuting. Passengers should follow the rules set by the transport companies whether it is related to the fare or the physical behaviour companies expect from them. They should also treat fellow passengers with care and respect, e.g. providing seats to the elerly or pregnant passengers. This way, they can foster a healthy transport environment and reduce delays. To conclude, transport delays are caused by a lack of manpower and the increasng rates of crime. In order to overcome this problem, the transport companies can increase staff wages and transport users can create a respectful environment.