Many countries aim to provide their living standards by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a results. Do you think advantages of economic development outweight the advantages?

These days, majority of countries tend to reach impeccability in terms of economy in order to raise the living standards. However, this focus is causing loss of cultural values. I strongly believe that the disadvantages are more than advantages, as although the economic progress offers better lifestyles, it weakens social relevance and bonds between relatives. Firstly, the excessive focus on economy undermines the social values. This means that people start to value materialistic price over sentimental ones. Since individuals allocate more time at work to achieve financial independence, they have minimum time for family gatherings and public events. For instance, in Uzbekistan the importance of Navruz is gradually vanishing, as people are too busy and consider them as a waste of time. As a result, the public celebration of it stopped, the large event is now celebrated not as ostentatiously as before, the connection in society eroded. Secondly, the growth of economy weakens the relationships and social bonds. Today, it is popular to move to another cities or even abroad in search of better job opportunities, leaving acquaintances behind. This distance reduces even emotional family bonds that were considered as strongest bond. For example, the elderly people are left alone by youngsters who focus on shaping their career, which leads to separation. Although, the high salaries and incomes provide comfort, it cannot replace family bonds. In conclusion, paying too much attention on the economic development takes a substantial amount of time from individuals leaving a little time to connect with society and it separates people from their relatives weakening the bonds between them. In my opinion, disadvantages outweigh the advantages.