Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

Urbanisation and modern life have presented people with a number of challenges and decisions, none of which are too rudimentary to be overlooked. However, the crux of the matter is related to overconsumption among humans. Some individuals argue that recycling household waste is not really common, and they think that passing laws by the government is the best solution. In my view, although underestimating the role of high-ranking officials is not logical, it does not necessarily mean that it can be enough to tackle this crux. On the one hand, the process of recycling is a must for each nation to make society a better place to live. To clarify, nowadays, everybody is suffering from an epidemic disease called overconsumption. In other words, they buy more than they need, and instead of recycling materials, they throw them away, which not only endangers their mental health as they are addicted to following such a trend, but also the lives of lots of flora and fauna due to polluting the environment. Hence, this is the responsibility of the government to address this issue by imposing a heavy penalty to stop people from throwing their items rather than recycling. On the other hand, focusing solely on the role of authorities can not be the answer. To clarify, there is a definite link between people's awareness and protecting the ecosystem. Indeed, when people are aware enough of the importance of recycling their objects, they are more likely to place a high value on it. In other words, community education is beneficial in this case. Moreover, the role of the family is undeniable. These places are the first steps for children to broaden their horizons towards the rules and laws,since they take a look at their parents as role models in their lives. As a result, if parents themselves prioritise recycling over consumption. In this way, pupils get used to such behaviour in their lives. In conclusion, although fear of punishment stops residents from throwing their belongings and overconsumption, it is not as if it can be considered a main solution. From my perspective, these are the most important ways that must be regarded by the government to provide overall well-being for the whole society, such as community education and even good upbringing.