People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Some individuals imagine that lengthy judicial sentences can deter potential criminals. Others believe in restorative justice through other forms of sentencing. This essay will discuss both views before outlining my opinion. A widely held view among people is that tougher judgements are effective in reducing crime. It is believed that the harsh conditions experienced in longer imprisonment can be useful in preventing people from committing crimes. Likewise, in the event that long-serving prisoners are released, their chances of re-offending are very minimal. For example, it is sometimes argued that the reason for rising traffic offences in the world is that these usually come with non-stringent punishments. As a result, giving harsher punishments to traffic offenders is considered a reasonable solution. Another school of thought is that long-term sentences only instil fear without encouraging any typical mindset and behaviour change. According to positive behaviour change specialists, meaningful changes can only be achieved when criminals come to the point of independently deciding to change. This is when they become remorseful and accept restorative activities, such as education and skills development, counselling, and community service. When implemented correctly, these alternative solutions can be ideal in reducing crime. My opinion is that a balanced approach is required. Punishments should continue to be given based on the weight of the crime -- in a legally fair and unbiased manner. This means assessing the offenders and their crimes to ascertain their socioeconomic and legal needs to be fully restored and re-integrated to society. In conclusion, some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that alternative solutions are more effective in reducing crime. I argue that judicial descretion should be used in passing prison sentences to ensure that the legal system remains fair.