In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, in many states, folks have been living longer than previously. Others state that an ageing population produces obstacles for governments. Some individuals believe there are advantages if society has more elderly citizens. The advantages of having an ageing population are the number of productive citizens increased and rapid economic enhancement, here are some of my outlines. Firstly, the sum of elderly folks contributes to the increase of productive workers, particularly someone in the range of 25 to 55. In that condition, many companies which have a large employee demand can selectively open vacancies to fill some positions. For instance, there was a case in 2020 in which the vacancy demand was higher than the labour supply, which means the number of productive people was less than usual. Thus, many companies become unproductive, the quality of products and services decreases, and finally loss of profit. Secondly, the productive workers imply to country’s economic growth. Economic condition is one of the most crucial things that a country must have since the government makes an innovation in their education systems to enhance more qualified resources such as intelligent humans in the future who can bring newly discovered knowledge for industry advancement. For example, in 2023 Indonesian government announced a regulation to provide training for citizens, particularly for wife houses to make them productive again in their 30s to 40s. In conclusion, providing productive workers and economic growth development are the advantages of the ageing population. Individuals must consider productivity not represented by age but by the spirit for a great future in their lives.