In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Today most people in all of the world prefer to buy food which comes from overseas than eat local greens and meat. There are several reasons for this, and the main one is food's price. The government can encourage citizens to use more local products with extra taxes for imported ones or create farms and factories, which can grow with similar costs. The cost of the product is one of the main factors in the economy. The reason why imported food became popular among ordinary customers is that food which came from abroad was much cheaper than local food. Countries can grow some type of fruit or greens without any problems, while others do not have enough natural and unnatural resources (good soil, winds, even rain). For instance, as Brazil has required warm weather, they grow cacao with a little amount of money. Production and delivery costs will be cheaper if companies buy from Brazil than grow it themselves. Therefore, imported food's popularity is increasing. The government can influence people to buy products (grown/created by locals) in several ways. Firstly, they should create new extra taxes for imported food. After increasing the cost, they will be similar to locals, and companies, shops, and organisations won't deliver them. Another good option is that the government should open new farms, buy new technological devices (new trucks, farming machines, fertilisers and so on) and grow themselves with similar costs. In conclusion, people won't buy local food if companies cannot decline their costs to be similar to those of imported food. With new farms the government may encourage citizens.