The only reason why people work hard is to earn more money. There are no other reasons to do it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that the only reason for working hard is to earn more money. Although I agree that earning more money plays an important role in enhancing people ’s living quality, I don’t think it is the only reason, as other things such as obtaining a sense of achievement and undertaking social responsibility are also essential. On the one hand, earning more money can significantly ensure people ’s living quality. As we are in a society where the development of the economy is unstable, many people are under the pressure of economics. Earning more money through hard working provides individuals a stable material assurance which can alleviate people ’s economic burden and improve living quality in the end. As a result, with a high living quality, people can pay more attention to self-development, which enhances comprehensive abilities and reflect on working, driving people into a virtuous circle. However, working hard only for money can just keep motivation in the short term. On the other hand, working hard only for money may be effective in enhancing living quality, but it cannot be seen as a lasting motivation. Other aims like achievements and responsibility are also vital. It is exceedingly possible for someone to stop working hard once they obtained enough money and lived a high- quality life as they take earning money for the sole reason. However, people will maintain their positive attitude to work though they have earned enough money, if they can feel a sense of achievement or take some social responsibilities through their work. According to an investigation conducted in Shanghai, the people who work for multiple purposes excepting earning money tend to have a longer career. That’s because as well as providing them with material support, working can benefit people mentally through enriching their lives and offering a sense of fulfilment. Consequently, these feelings can make us be willing to do more work and be more satisfied with the work itself, compared with just working for money. In conclusion, though working for money is necessary for improving living quality, it cannot be seen as the only reason, because it may limit our working willingness once we obtain enough money. Other reasons like fulfilment are also significant factors that inspire individuals to stay committed to work