Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A widely debated issue among sports followers is what contributes most to success: physical or mental preparedness. My opinion is that this subject carries significance because of the merits of both sides, and winners normally reflect a dedication to both bodybuilding and having a positive mindset. This essay will discuss how (i) physical strength helps to build endurance and (ii) mental tenacity keeps athletes motivated. To begin with, the proponents of physicality argue that for sportspeople to achieve success, their physical bodies should be capable of withstanding the pressure of the game. For instance, many sporting activities, such as rugby, involve direct contact and running, which expose the players to bodily injury or strain. Therefore, such players must be physically fit in order to endure and successfully contribute to the team. This demonstrates how fitness is justified and remains a critical component for sports participants. In contrast, people with high levels of fitness can still fail without the right mindset. For example, in boxing and wrestling, it is common for well-trained athletes to falter and lose matches because they have not adequately prepared mentally. Mental preparation involves building the confidence and motivation to push a player to the end, even if they experience hurdles during the match. As such, it makes sense to believe that this part of game preparation cannot be replaced by simply going to the gym; it is as vital as physical training. In conclusion, the question of whether physical tenacity is more important than mental strength remains highly topical. This essay has discussed how the former is crucial for avoiding injuries and the latter for maintaining motivation during games. I argue that the most successful athletes tend to proactively invest time and effort in developing both aspects.