Successful people try new things and takes new risks rather than only doing what they know how do well. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Risk takers who try new things have a higher chance of success compared to those who invest in things they already know. I partially agree with this opinion because there is no rulebook for success. Thus, investing in emerging things does not guarantee financial benefits. To begin with, let us discuss the merits of investing in different ventures. According to me, what increases the probability of success is presence of a diversified portfolio. It balances the overall risk and gives exponential returns on the net investment. For example, if we consider the popular show named "Shark Tank", the Sharks invest in new line of businesses. They want their presence in different markets, so that if an industry experiences a boon, they can reap the benefits. This one success can balance for all the other things that are not performing well. However, a major setback in this process is the amount of liquid cash flow required. Additionally, the capability of the investor to hold on to such investments. Generally, this becomes the major reason that risk taking becomes a costly affair and can pull you downwards. Hence, the demerits of making such investments outweigh the merits. Furthermore, if someone is investing in their field, it gives them better understanding of problems and solutions. For instance, those who invest in the stock market focuses on learning and improving, rather than going for a completely new skillset. It is nothing new that people who invest in stocks are the most successful ones. To conclude, I would suggest only taking high value risk when you have enough resource to sustain. Otherwise, try to build something with what you know the best. I believe, sometimes it is better to be the king of a single trade rather than jack of all trades.