The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree with this idea? (REVANN)

Nowadays, it has been widely argued that the only approach to enhance road- safety is to apply harsh fines on driving offenses. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons that support my opinion. To begin with, there are a variety of approaches that can contribute to the safety of the citizins while driving. One of them is applying panalities by the government for those who do not comply with the rules and regulations, such as exceeding the speed limit. A study in the US showed that there is a yearly rise of 20% of car accidents, due to illegal speeding, even though the appliance of high and strict fees for this kind of offense. As a result, we should look into some alternatives. For instance, investing in developing awareness campaigns all over the city about the role and responsibality of people when it comes to protecting ourselves from car accidents. Futhermore, government should encourage people to drive safely. For example, applying some incentives for individuals who don`t make any driving offenses during the year, such as incentives related to car insurance. To illustrate on that, by being compliance to all the traffic rules over the year, you will get a discount rate of 25% on your next renewal of your car insurance. This will significantly influence people to make better decisions while driving, hence improving safety. In conclusion, despite people having different opinion on increasing safety of the roads. I firmly believe that there are many ways, as discussed above, that can effectively improve safety without putting more strict punishments.