Learning English at schools is often seen as more important than local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it more important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure survival of local languages and if so, how?

English is a substantial global language. It is prompting debates over the necessity of learning English at schools since it will threaten the existence of local languages. I lean towards the belief that English has myriads for the students and introducing it at schools will not deprive the local languages since both have the same importance. In this essay, I will delve into the reasons and provide my opinion on that matter. Learning English is beneficial for the future. We are living in an era where the world opens widely, opportunities are offered everywhere, and even can be found all over the world. To fit into this generation, we should prepare ourselves by starting with the basic one which is acquiring the English language. If our students were not able to speak English, they would not be ready to take the chance and face the future globally. They would lose to students from other countries who are more fluent in English, and more able to communicate with people abroad and end up taking the opportunities. Preparing our students for the future is important and it has to be started since they are at school. Including learning English in the curriculum should be a priority. The English language is as necessary as the local language, both have the same weight for the students. The local language is an identity of the country and learning it at school is notable to perpetuate the language and grow nationalism in the students while learning English will help the students to broaden their horizons, be connected with people all over the world, help them to pursue their dreams and take opportunities out of the country. For example, the study shows that 40% of Indonesian students study bachelor at numerous top 5 universities in the world, such as Harvard, Oxford, and Cambridge. It only can happen because the students are fluent in English, and providing the English language at schools is one of the reasons. To conclude, acquiring the English language at school is advantageous for students to be more prepared to face the future and introducing it since school can help them to be more ready. Learning English at school will not deprive the position of the local language because both have the same importance for students and including both languages in the curriculum will help strengthen the students to be brave take opportunities and pursue their dreams outside of the country while still having their identity and nationalism.