Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.” Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that zoos should be banned because it is inhuman to keep animals in cages, but other people think that it can be helpful for the conservation of endangered species. I will discuss both views along with my opinion in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, keeping animals in captivity affects them mentally. These wild animals are not naturally developed to be habituated in small cages. especially a big-sized creature, such as a Tiger and a bear. They need to be physically active, which is not possible in a small area. For instance, it has been seen in many wild bears that they become depressed and more aggressive in the wild sanctuaries and die before their natural age. On the other hand, Zoos help to protect many endangered species, but also spread awareness and provide economic benefits. There are many species that are not possible to conserve in a natural environment, like in a forest, such as the Panda. So zoos are an absolute place to keep them safe. Apart from this, zoos help to educate people about the importance of wildlife and provide regional economic benefits by creating jobs and through visitors. For example, there is a big national park open in the capital of India, visited by thousands of people every day, and people are working inside as cleaners and guides. In conclusion, while sheltering wild animals can be detrimental for them, it can also be an effective solution to save a number of species from extinction and certainly help to boost the local economy.