Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outwiegh the disadvantages?

According to many experts, children should start learning a foreign language in primary school before going to secondary school. Because primary school students are more interested and develop new skills in less time. First of all, during primary school, children's brains are in a developmental stage and they are naturally inclined towards learning a new skill, like a foreign language. So, they can easily master a foreign language in less time, if schools started teaching them in primary schools. For example, it has been seen that children who started learning French in primary school have a better grasp of French compared to children who started learning later on in secondary school. On the other hand, learning a new language sometimes proved to be a challenge, because it requires some skills,like a better memory, a good IQ, and a strong understanding of words. This is hard for primary school children to develop. Hence, it might put an extra burden on children and can compromise other subjects' performances. For instance, a drop in overall academic performance has been seen in children who are studying a foreign language. To conclude, while it can be quite difficult for primary school children to learn a new language but during this age, they can learn easily because their developing brains have a good grasp on learning new languages.