The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishment for driving offences. To what extend do you agree or disagree

There is one controversy about apply the law of using the road being stronger than it used to be in the past, due to preventing people from becoming careless about driving vehicles. I partly agree with this view, since an increase in the heavier punishment is necessary, while individuals should be responsible for their own actions too. This essay will discuss both sides and explain why a balance between the two is the most effective approach. On the one hand, it is widely believed that governments have the power to draft a harder legislation by imposing more punishments, such as paying a high fee, offering apply longer imprisonment, and even the death penalty. By doing this, the number of serious accidents on the road may decrease significantly, as people are afraid of committing driving crimes and strictly follow the law. However, some people argue that focusing on the main causes of accidents is more significant than implementing stricter measures. By allowing adolescents to drive a car by themselves, commuting after drinking alcohol, and even a illegal racing on the public roads, all are being careless of using the road and should be considered by governments and public sectors. However, there are several approaches to reduce the risk of serious road accidents by restricting adolescents from having their own driver license, setting up various checkpoints to test individual's alcohol level and to trap those illegal racing cars. In conclusion, although increasing a stricter punishment is important for reducing driving offences, catching eyes on the main threat is equallet necessary. Good planning should strike a balance between root causes and harsh laws to ensure the citizens' quality of life.