More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is well known that in our overconsuming world obesity had become an ubiquitous problem. A group of people believe that limiting access to high-calorie fatty food by making its price bigger, can be solution for overweight groups in society. Even though idea is interesting, i think that big numbers on a scale caused by absolutely different things, and not the price. First of all, for thousands of years our ancestors ate fatty meats and fat itself to survive. Average calorie consumption of a peasant 2 centuries ago was close to 4000 calories per day and contained a lot of fat. It was due to the hard-working and giant amount of labor every single day. Years have passed and most important thing that happened to humanity is hypodynamia. Comfort gave us a wonderful opportunity to avoid any physical activities and sometimes even walking. Therefore metabolism that didn't change in 200 years started sending calorie surplus into a fat, no more sufficient movement to burn energy from food. For instance, if we look at Italian cousine, we may think that they must be chubby, since most of the food they eat is carbs and fats. But the key thing is that they move much more and their cities are walkable. There is a concrete correlation between level of automobilization and obesity. The less outdoor activity options a person have, the less chances that daily goal of moving will be achieved. Secondly, skyrocketing the prices for fattening foods will affect everyone else and will cause more harm than benefits. Because a lot of fattening products are very healthy, they are bricks in our metabolism and endocrine systems. For example red fish and hazelnuts, they are extremely high on calories but also irreplaceable in terms of vitamins and nutritious. Also, if a person really wants to have something, they'll get it. We have seen it in Europe and Canada with cigarettes where prices are enormously high but smokers are still buying the cigarettes. At the same time people who work physically or attend to gym, have a privilege to eat whatever they want just by being active. Overall, i think being overweight have nothing to do with food itself. Most importantly people should look at their activity instead of counting every calorie. At the same time urbanization plays a big role in people's body condition, people from car-dependent cities simply walk less. So instead of making inconveniences with prices, government should focus more on their cities and people on their activity