Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers with relevant examples.

Some people think, that smacking children might change their behaviour in a positive way. I strongly disagree with this statement, and in this essay I will provide some reasons for my opinion. Firstly, it is impossible to build a healthy and supportive relationship in a family where parents physically punish a child. After any form of violence child is frightened of the person who caused the stress. While the person supposed to be authority, mentor and a friend for a child, he becomes someone whom the child indicates as a danger, as a result, it causes inner conflict. There are numerous psychological articles and books regarding children's mental health, where authors referring to research, that children start behaving worse after punishments. Lies and avoidance of communication increase with the age of the youngster. Furthermore, in adulthood, people who were punished by their parents often have mental health issuse. Another major reason, that it is illegal in many countries and is considered equal to the domestic violence. Any child is not physically strong and mentally mature enough to resist. A good example is Germany, where there is a strong family institution, and if somebody smacks a child in a public place, people around will call inspection and it can cause the cancellation of individual's parental status. Afterwards, it is complicated to get your rights back. To conclude, from my perspective, smacking doesn't have any positive results and should be forbidden in all countries, even though other people can have other opinion. Mainly, it causes only mental problems and strained relations rather than discipline.