News plays an important part of most people;s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

For most people, news is a significant part of their daily routine. This is because it keeps people informed and can educate them on current events. However, most reported news is focused mainly on negative information because these bring more viewers and, in turn, profit. Nonetheless, good news should also be a priority, as it can make people more hopeful and productive in society. News are is the main source by which people can keep up with current events. This is to say that by watching the news on a daily basis, people can understand the major risks they are exposed to and how to help them stay safe. A good example of this is the reporting of the pandemic evolution. During the COVID pandemic, the news was the primary source of information on how to protect our families and communities. However, the media prefer to focus mainly on bad news, as these tend to be most consumed by people. As negative developments are more watched and later on debated about, media companies tend to overuse such news and return to it in order to keep a high audience. For example, the trial of a local politician was in the news daily for months after the verdict because people wanted to talk about it further. While news needs to inform and educate people, it is also critical for them to present positive situations in local communities. This news can make a society stronger by increasing the cooperation between its members. Good news not only makes people more hopeful but can also inspire them to act better. For instance, after a report on the news about volunteer work in animal shelters, the number of people who reach out to help may increase. In conclusion, people turn to the news in order to always be aware of the current state of the world. Although bad news can be more profitable to report, it is critical to also present good news, as they inspire people to act better.