Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While competition is trusted to be beneficial to some individuals or groups, others believe that collaboration would be the better alternative rather than putting people against each other. In my perspective, both of these views can be held true when looking at them in their own respective areas and contexts, it is only then that we could draw a conclusion without undermining any components and their values. On one hand, when put in an environment that promotes individuality’s own success or prowess, newer and higher standards can be formed and reached. This, in return, can perpetuate the cycle of people putting in more hard work and dedication to achieve their goal, only to be beaten by a new person who has put in more passion and effort. Thus, setting up the bar that the rest of the people need to acknowledge and strive to surpass it. Such as in the sports world where the most skilful and talented people train and fight against each other so that they can climb and determine the number one position that millions of people could only wish for. On the other hand, individuality’s potential is only a turning gear compared to an array of working parts that function flawlessly together, this teamwork can offer to strengthen and give leverage that would have been hidden away due to competition. It is this bond that can connect and lead people to have mutual understanding and grounding, which, through cooperation, they can help to fill in the weaknesses or hone the strength that each person possess. Take construction workers for example, they follow and apply the experience that they have with the addition of collaboration with each other, they can successfully build and maintain buildings, skyscrapers, …. In conclusion, both of these mindsets can provide benefits and illustrate the power it can have on the individual and communities. Noteworthy that it is based on a certain situation that we can get the most from both and apply to our daily lives. Therefore, when people are competing or cooperating, the goal should never change as you are trying to be the best within your surroundings and environment.