n many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely known that online connection has started to become more and more common. There are clearly a lot of advantages and disadvantages to this form of communication. However, I tend to believe that the ups outweigh the downs. On the one hand, there are clear arguments that online communication has many benefits in our daily lives. This is because it improves the efficiency of transferring information from one source to another. A great example would be text messages; it is easier to send a text message to someone rather than finding an appropriate time for both parties to provide the respective information. Moreover, it allows meetings to be organized remotely, without the burden of wasting time to go to a specific location in order to successfully sustain the event. For example, corporate meetings are more efficiently organized online since everyone can join from home, which saves time. However, there are also some disadvantages when it comes to online communication. Remote calls usually involve a microphone and a camera. Due to the fact that people have the choice to keep their camera off during the meeting, this could lead to social inhibition in the long term. For example, during the pandemic, a lot of students kept their camera off during online classes, which made them insecure about their self-image. Furthermore, people will get used to online meetings; therefore, they will start avoiding face-to-face events, making them avoid social interaction and potentially impacting their mental health. In conclusion, I believe that online communication has a lot of advantages and it is very beneficial for our society, but there are certain aspects we should be careful with in order not to be negatively impacted by it.