Some people think that competition at work, school and in daily life is a good thing. Others belive that we should try to cooperate more rather than competing against each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate between competition and cooperation in work, school and our daily life. Many have the impression that competing is beneficial, while others oppose and state that cooperation should be more emphasised. This essay will discuss both views and why there is a need for balance between the two concepts. Some people have the belief that competition in work, school and daily life is positive. In organizations and companies, employers often encourage competition among staff and set up milestones that help them identify competent employees. This is also seen in academic institutions, where the very system of conducting examinations is used to single out excellent students, who often represent the school in competitions. Likewise, in our daily lives, it is part of our very nature to compare ourselves. I agree that competition is important because it provides motivation for growth and development. When individuals compete, they improve their capacity and are given an opportunity to stand out if they perform well. Furthermore, research conducted in UK high schools found that students often compete with their peers for scholarships and recognition. This encouraged even the weaker students to work harder and study more, significantly improving their grades. However, others oppose the belief and advise cooperation rather than contesting. This is because workers who work together finish tasks faster and more efficiently. Teamwork reduces the amount of effort required from each person. In addition, students ' cooperation is needed in extracurricular activities such as sports and musical bands. If one person chooses to outshine the others, there is a break in synergy and cooperation, which could damage their performance. I concur that working together promotes unity and yields better results. For instance, a track team that previously focused on individual abilities finally won their first relay race after shifting their focus to cooperation as a team. In conclusion, although competition provides motivation and cooperation encourages unity, there is a need for balance between both for improvements at workplaces, schools and our daily lives.