In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, youngsters primarily prefer to buy clothes in second-hands. Some of them argument this with protecting of ecology, others like its cheapness and possibility to find something interesting. Despite this, second-hand clothing may be expired or in low-quality, inappropriate or hard to use. Let`s see positive and negative aspects of this tendency. In retrospective, wearing somebody`s clothes was a trait of poor people, for whom it was too expensive to buy new clothing every time. In that case, second-handed clothes are much more affordable, useful and can serve for few other generations. This type of dressing is also quite beneficial for ecology - nothig will be throwed away if was not used for different purposes. Giving a new life to a garments is becoming a new trend for influencers, models and bloggers, who can wear something expensive, but not weared by its host because of boredom. However, others may disagree with benefits of second-hands. Older generations are ashamed of using somebody`s stuff, in case of capability to buy anything new for themselves. Those who believe in conspitological theories, avoid this due to a negative energy of things utilized by others. Overall, everyone of them agree on the fact that any good should be used by its designated owner, without any exchanging, selling and buying for second time. To conclude, the second-hand clothing is primarily a positive development, which is not harming anyone in its purpose to exchange stuff between people. Those who choose it to save the environment, money or cultural heritage is a great generation of consious people.