Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The increasing population in metropolitan areas is the reason for enormous issues. The aim of this essay is to examine the issues which have resulted in these problems and also propose a number of different varieties of ways to solve them. One of the significant problems is the increasing traffic congestion. Citizens of big cities suffer from a high number of vehicles on the roads, which complicates the commuter’s life. Also, another problem, such as a deficit of drinking water, can be an important thing in the overpopulated urban areas. Excessive water consumption should be regulated and controlled by authorities in order to prevent a water crisis and provide an uninterrupted water supply. One possible approach for the government to resolve traffic congestion issues is the construction of additional multi-level highways. To illustrate, some developed countries have already implemented this solution successfully. In these countries, unloading roads help to reduce congestion in rush hours. As regards the problem of water consumption, it would certainly tackle the problem by re-treatment and the use of wastewater. The treated wastewater can be used repeatedly for technical needs. For instance, in Kazakhstan, in Aktau city, this approach has already been applied, in the toilets of the city’s apartments, a such technical water is used. Consequently, overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems, such as overcrowding on the roads and the shortage of drinking water. The government can solve these problems and try to cope with economic and reasonable solutions which are effectively implemented in other parts of our world.