The current exam system is the best and the better is not found yet. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The present means of assessment has been argued to be inferior as a more effective strategy is yet to be discovered. I completely disagree with this statement because of the how students tend to appraoch exams. One of the main reasons I disagree with this view is that people write exams to simply pass a paper rather than to solidify their knowledge in a particular course. This is because, many at times people do not possess applicable knowledge or skills relevent to real life situations. For instance, implementing a structure where the answers to an assessment require critical thinking can be helpful in ensuring that tests adequately challenge the mind of students. However, it would take very detailed and carefully thought out questions to achieve this. Another important point to consider is how examinations are seen as the end goal instead of the knowledge and learning aspect in education. Consequently, test takers are found to place more relevance on the test itself, when the focus should be on the course in question. For example, a group of students have a Chemistry test on a specific topic. They would go out to seek past questions on the test when they should be assimilationg and absorbing the information on said topic. In conclusion, I believe the present mode of exam is not the best and there is improvement to be made, because of how much it downplays the overall impact of formal education.