Some people think that government should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investments into new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Society has been divided into two parts, the first group believes that policymakers should concentrate on developing railways, while others, vice versa, opine that highway construction is more important. While there are many supported arguments for both viewpoints that could be mentioned, this essay concentrates on the discussion of two of them. On the one hand, the railway, mostly more ecological and I am convinced it is vital for future generations. On the other hand, bridging distant living areas by roads has crucial economic importance. Subsequently, the following paragraphs contain information and examples about the mentioned opinions. To begin with, environmental and especially air pollution issues have become vital across the globe nowadays. Therefore, the development of the railway transportation organisation could be the solution, because the train engines commonly use electricity as an operating power instead of fossil fuels. Thus, the environmental impact is almost absent, taking into account the amount of cargo volume and the number of passengers that could be transported by a developed railway system compared with other options. For instance, extensive railway infrastructure in Japan is helped to reduce air pollution for 40% in 20 years. However, refining the road infrastructure is crucial for the economy, especially in suburban and rural areas. Highways, bridging distant towns, suppliers and customers, factories and warehouses are vital like blood in a body. Concrete and asphalt pathways do not have as strict requirements as railways and can be constructed flexibly and rapidly. Hence, road has significant importance for transporting passengers and commodities when speed and variety of destinations are the key factors. Time is one of the most important things in the business environment and the economy; thus, delivery by vehicles through the developed highway system is the best time/cost option present day. In conclusion, railways have an advantage as a more eco-friendly transportation system compared with others and provide long-term benefits; however, I am convinced that the broad, well-maintained road system is as necessary for business and economy as oxygen.