Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What’s your opinion?

In our current society many of us reason that success directly co-relates to the intelligence of an individual. This however does not apply to every situation as I shall illustrate on this essay. First and foremost, success is determined not only by intelligence but also the environment and circumstances that one may find themselves in. For example a student may underperform in their final examinations not because of low intelligence but due to absentism from school as a result of poverty in the household. Moreover an employee could be struggling to keep up at work because they lost a close relative even despite having qualified for the job. The list could go on and on as to how family, individual and also geographical aspects could influence success. Society should learn not to measure success with intelligence but instead put more emphasis in understanding an individual as a whole. It is important for one to put into consideration the other side of the story because intelligent people are also human and intelligence alone cannot determine the success of an individual. In conclusion, intelligence is just one part but situations and external factors heavily influence the success of a person. It would be unfair to reason that intelligence is the ultimate measure of success.