More and more Students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying aboard outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent years, studying abroad has become a widely popular choice. A large number of students are leaving their country for the purpose of higher education. This essay will put forward the benefits as well as the drawbacks of this decision. I firmly believe, there are more benefits to this than the latter. To begin with, one of the major reasons for pupils to move abroad for education is lower tuition feescompared to their home countries. For example, in India, the cost to pursue bachelor's in medicine is five times the cost of studying medicine in Serbia, so it is only logical for students with less financial capabilities to choose such options. Furthermore, the population of India is the highest globally,but there are only a limited number of seats available for admission in medical universities in India, that makes it impossible for every student to be admitted to medical school. Hence, they end up leaving their home country to find opportunities elsewhere. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to it as well, like the feeling of homesickness. Staying away from your family in a completely new surrounding, which is culturally quite different, can be very challenging for young adults. For instance, I left my country to study overseas at the age of 19,and the first couple of years were very difficult for me as i had to learn a new language as well as culturally adapt to this new place. But with time and gaining more maturity, I got through this extremely difficult phase. In conclusion, I completely feel that the perks of moving overseas for higher education are much more compared to the drawbacks.