It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they visit.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As foreigners travel from one country to another it is very important for them to familiarize themselves with the history and culture of the citizens in the country. I solely agree with this as it is important for one to respect and appreciate different means of life across the globe. Firstly, a people's past and current way of life gives a clear image as to how and why they lead their lives in a certain way. For example, in Islamic countries, pork is strictly forbidden. A foreigner who loves eating pork based products such as ribs may fail to understand this but upon further enquiry, they get to understand why pork is considered spiritually unclean by the Muslims. Moreover, exposure to different means of living expands an individual's understanding of the world. This goes a long way in giving people different ideas, perspectives and building tolerance by learning to respect and embrace people just as they are. For instance one may travel to a country where poverty affects many families. Upon witnessing the struggles and challenges that face these families daily, a visitor will return home having better gratitude towards their own life. Additionally one also learns to interact with and appreciate people living under such circumstances. In conclusion, I agree that visitors from foreign countries should take time to understand the origin and means of life of the communities they engage with. They ought to view it as a learning experience and a means for them to grow and better understand the world they live in.