In many countries plastic containers have become more common than ever and used by food and dink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the world, plastic containers are increasingly used by food and beverage industry. Some people argue that the benefits of using plastic containers outweigh the harms that it causes. However, I think the harms of using plastics is severe enough to advocate against it. In this essay, we will discuss the benefits of plastic containers and the damage it causes, with examples of each. It is hard to overstate the opportunity that plastic containers created for the food industry. Suddenly, we have the ability to create containers of any shape we want, which allow the food industry to create containers in shape, size or design that would be impossible to do with metal or glass. Unlike organic materials such as leaves, wood or paper, plastic does not degrade over time. Finally, plastic is much cheaper than metal or glass, which means companies no longer need to collect bottles from consumers to be reused. However, plastic comes with various harms to our body and environment. Plastic can melt if exposed to heat, potentially contaminating the food or beverage it contains with dangerous chemicals. Meanwhile the very advantages that plastic confers amplifies the harm it does to the environment. Its longetivity means that it does not break down, filling landfills, rivers and oceans with plastic waste that lasts forever, while the very low cost it takes to produce discourages recycling. These harms have led environmental groups to call for prohibition of most types of plastics, and where plastic use is unavoidable, to force the manufacturer to recycle as much of it as possible. In conclusion, while plastic confers many advantages and some use of it is unavoidable, it harms our health and environment in myriad ways. Therefore, I think we should use as little of it as possible, and to reuse and recycle as much of what we cannot avoid using as possible.