Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The invention of computers in the mid-20th century has transformed the life of people across the world. Workers across many professions have gained not just a new tool, but a whole new way to work and communicate, with large increase in productivity as a result. However, while computer is certainly an important technology, I will argue that other technologies invented during the past century are even more important than the computer. This essay will provide several examples of technologies that not only transform people's lives, but saved millions of them. By far the most defining technology in the last hundred years is the Green Revolution. A combination of new crop varieties, synthetic fertilizers, and new agricultural techniques has massively increased the productivity of farms across the world. In the past, the only way to expand agricultural production was by clearing forests and building new farms. It was therefore suggested in the 1950s that when all arable land would have been cultivated, food production would stagnate and mass starvation would be inevitable. Instead, while the world's population has quadrupled in the past century, food is now more abundant than ever. Food shortages today represent not a failure of production, but merely a failure of distribution. Other important technologies of this era include the development of antibiotics. The discovery of antibiotics in the 1940s has since saved untold millions of people from diseases which would have killed them before. In the past, falling into the wrong puddle or eating a contaminated food could have been a death sentence. Today, they are treatable with a simple antibiotic. Even some of the most dangerous diseases, such as tubercolosis and even the Black Death, are curable with antibiotics. In conclusion, while the invention of computers is undeniably important, the Green Revolution and the discovery of antibiotics are even more significant. There are uncountable millions of people, arguably even billions, who would not be alive today but for these two technologies.